2014 April PAD Challenge Day 16: Write an elegy poem

Today’s prompt is to write an elegy or in other words, a love poem for the dead. Even though it’s a really morbid subject, I still hope you enjoy it. And if you fancy joining in on the fun of the 30 day challenge then click here for today’s prompt. It’s never too late! I really don’t have anyone that I’ve lost and felt lots of pain for so I’m going to continue with my fluffy naive love poems.

Elegy to innocent romanticism

Buddy oh pal, o’ friend of mine.

It seems like you’re slowly fading away, you’re dying.

Love seems so twisted in this digital age,

Affairs, abuse and non-committed relationships at this stage.

Back in the golden days,

Love wasn’t so hard to find,

chivalry and gentlemanly gestures would not go astray. 

You were perfect, you were pure, you were full of hope and optimism,

Now you are laughed at and ridiculed for being old-fashioned.

But you were so beautiful, you filled girl’s hearts with delight.

Wrote them epic love poems, brought them bouquets of lilacs and lilies at night,

To prove your devotion, you waited patiently for a message.

So, call me naive for thinking you still live,

That you still exist in this twenty-first century,

full of cynical creatures and monsters,

That say you aren’t true,

But just know that I will always be committed,

To believing in you.

Leave a comment