What’s your superpower?

Why if I had a dime,

For every time,

Superman posts, “Just Saved the Day!”

On his Twitter timeline,

I’d be as rich as Tony Stark.

Who, despite his narcissistic, sarcastic,

Slightly socio-pathic tendencies,

Has a kind heart.

But rip apart the machinery, the façade,

And what is left?

What remains?

The Bane of my existence,

Persists and points out,

“What’s so special about you? You don’t matter.”

Do you fly?

No. Too many planes.

Superspeed?

No. Afraid of the excessive amount of bugs,

Caught between the two front teeth,

And the back of my throat.

Trust me, it’s disgusting.

So, I wish I could gloat,

About my telepathic brain.

But I don’t really need one,

To see what you’re thinking,

When a tall, smiling girl with curves,

Walks your way,

Onto the train at 8:03.

No…
My superpower packs more of a punch,

Than your average cup of coffee.

My superpower is…Positivity!

Not in a happy clappy, overly optimistic, preppy sort.

The kind that says self-belief,

Will cure the world of violence and bullying.

No. We have the power,

To bring people up when you bring them down,

Keep their head up,

Instead of low to the ground,

Because they think they’ll never be good enough for you.

With our cheerful disposition,

Our volition will carry friends,

Through the dark times, the good times,

The boring-as-fudge times,

Like an 8am archaic algebraic class.

Positivity is the hope in Pandora’s box.

Positivity is the love and hug around a campfire,

On a blistering Winter’s night.

We will always fight for other people’s rights

To express themselves.

We have a voice, brave and bold.

Barking barbaric yawps from the mountain tops.

We are majestic lions, proud.

Tall, we stand together,

Against the creeping shadowy thoughts.

Because when all is said and done,

What makes me special?

Nothing but the glowing light,

The song in my heart,

And the hope that tomorrow will bring new experiences,

Making me feel ALIVE.

And the fire in my soul will keep burning,

The world will keep turning,

And my passion for people will be shared eternally.

So does that answer your question, friend?

Leave a comment